Number 95 – Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters

As I’ve said before, I loved Reading Rainbow when I was a kid.  This was one of my favorites.  It’s an African folk tale, but is surprisingly similar to Cinderella – I suppose this illustrates the universal theme of pride before the fall.  Mufaro has two daughters who are very beautiful but one is rude and the other is generous and kind.  The story is well written and quite lovely.  The illustrations are beautiful.  I love the rich, vibrant way the illustrator recreated the African landscape.  I probably checked this out of the library a dozen times and I even bought myself a copy a couple years ago.  It’s a great book, but you don’t have to take my word for it.

2 Comments

Filed under Books I love, Things

2 responses to “Number 95 – Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters

  1. Mom

    Your last sentence tottally cracked me up! 🙂

  2. Mom

    oooops. Only needed to two tees.

Leave a Reply

