Number 74 – Keep Breathing by Ingrid Michaelson

This is a song that I recently discovered (thanks to Pandora).  The line that really struck me is: “I want to change the world, instead I sleep.”  When I was younger I had a sense that I was meant for great things.  I remember having moments going to the mailbox or something similarly mundane and being struck by a feeling of hugeness.  That is part of why I’ve always wanted to join Peace Corps.  I knew I had to see the world (if not change it).

As I’ve gotten older I’ve realized that changing the world is not something that’s simply done.  Experience (and PCT) has taught me this.  But I have also realized that we can change our life, someone’s life and maybe even a small corner of the world.  All we can do is keep breathing… and trying… and being inspired.  Constantly. And not spend our time sleeping.  If I want to change the world, then I need to get up and do something about it.

Go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Things, Things I love

Leave a Reply

