Number 68 – A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door & A Swiftly Tilting Planet (and When You Reach Me)

Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quartet (although I’ve only ever read 3…) is one of my favorite series ever written.  I think I’ve read A Wrinkle in Time a dozen or so times, A Wind in the Door 3 or 4 times and A Swiftly Tilting Planet 8 or 9 times.  I love them.  I love Meg, she’s a very strong female character.  I love the themes of love, family and fantasy.

The idea of time travel is so cool – I remember being amazed the first time I read it.  The way that Mrs. Who, Mrs. Whatsit and Mrs. Which explain the physics of time travel was so creative.  I loved it.

The new Newberry Award winner, When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead has some lovely ties to A Wrinkle in TimeWhen You Reach Me is a beautifully crafted story that deserves a spot on the shelf right next to L’Engle’s classics.  It is really a lovely book.

2 Comments

Filed under Books I love, Things

2 responses to “Number 68 – A Wrinkle in Time, A Wind in the Door & A Swiftly Tilting Planet (and When You Reach Me)

  1. Helen Moses Cannon

    When You Reach Me was amazing. Thank you for sharing. I now need to borrow your L’Engle books.

  2. Sara

    You REALLY need to read Many Waters. So creative and with a fabulous twist. 🙂 Plus, Dennys and Sandy finally get their moment to shine. But I do love Meg!

Leave a Reply

