Day 49 – Atonement

Atonement by Ian McEwan is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read.  It was recommended to me by my Uncle Steve.  I have to admit that it took me a while to get into the book.  In fact, I think it took a couple tries.  I am so glad I kept trying, because I love it so much.  It is such a well crafted story.  It has lots of things I love in a book – a child narrator, World War II, an epic love story, beautiful imagery…

It is about Briony, a 13 year old girl, who witnessing something that changes her life, and the lives of everyone involved.  It is a beautiful story about guilt, forgiveness and of course, atonement.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books I love, Things

Leave a Reply

