Day 43 – Donny Stevens

Donny was one of the first AZ5s (5th group of volunteers in Peace Corps Azerbaijan) we met.  He was one of the 11 volunteers from Oregon.  We met up with Donny, Jeff and Vy a few weeks before we embarked.  It was really great to meet some of the other future AZ5s and get to talk about our expectations and trepidations.

I don't really know what's happening here...

Donny is one of my favorite people from Peace Corps.  He was always so positive and motivating. I honestly can’t remember seeing Donny without a smile on his face.  He was so amped to be in Azerbaijan and working with youth.  He was really inspiring. I don’t think I could have made it through training without him.

Donny (aka the Golden Ticket) and his lovely girlfriend Sarah at the Rose Bowl

We have been able to see Donny a few times since he got back to Oregon last year.  I am so happy with the little enclave of AZRPCVs in Portland.  It is great to see them again!  This weekend we’re going to Portland to pick up Kelsey and Sally (other AZ5s!) and I couldn’t be more excited!  I am trying to get them to join the PDXAZRPCV group!  I’m sure Donny will help show them an amazing time and inspire them to move our here!

1 Comment

Filed under Friends, People

One response to “Day 43 – Donny Stevens

  1. Greta

    Awww, this makes me kind of sad that I moved out of the PDXAZRPCV group area 😦 That’s so cool that Sal and Kelsey are coming to visit!

Leave a Reply

