Day 40 – Ole Frosaker

Ole Frosaker was my dad’s dad’s dad.  He emigrated from Norway in 1883, when he was just 4 years old.  I wasn’t able to find where he first landed stateside (perhaps Dad knows…?).  He ended up in North Dakota where he bought an automobile dealership with his brother in 1921.  This dealership – which became Frosaker Motors – was a successful business for him and later my grandpa.

I wonder what kinds of stories Ole told… He lived almost a century – from 1869 until 1962.  I’m not even sure what kind of a man he was.   I will need to ask my dad about what he remember of his grandfather.  I wish that immigrants in those days tried harder to hold onto their cultures – I think it is such a shame that they gave into the ‘melting pot’ idea that was so popular at the time.  I would love to know Norwegian or at least know more about the Norwegian culture.

3 Comments

Filed under Family, People, People I wish I could have known

3 responses to “Day 40 – Ole Frosaker

  1. My name is Blair Frosaker I was born in Jamestown, N.D. my Grandfather was Christian Frosaker he was from Oslo Norway he settle in Sheyenne N.D. , From what my uncle Hans said i’m wondering if we are related. My Grandfather was born in 1886 and died around 1957, There’s no mention of someone named Ole.

    • My grandfather was born in 1906 (I think) and was named Gailen. He died in the 80s. Ask your uncle if he knows a Gailen. My uncle Bob is really into genealogy, so I could get you in touch with him if you’d like.
      There aren’t many Frosakers out there, so I’m sure we’re related somehow.

      • Anonymous

        Sorry my uncle Hans passed away back in the late 90’s at 88′ My dad knew alittle about the Frosaker’s but he passed away in 69′ so there’s not a whole lot of us around. If i find anything i’ll contact you .

Leave a Reply

