Day 35 – Cal Young Middle School

The above picture is Cal Young Middle School as I knew it as a student.  I spent 3 years as a Cay Young Pioneer.  I loved Cal Young!  I loved my friends, I loved sharing a locker with Brittany Saleeby, I loved the crazy long hallway, but I think I loved band most of all.  Band was cool at Cal Young.  I know, that doesn’t really make sense.  But, for real, all the cool kids did band.  This was mostly because of our awesome director, Chet Peterson. We got to play really fun songs (like the Jurassic Park and nightly news themes!) and marched in parades.  We even did cool formations and stuff.  We were pretty much awesome.

This photo is of Cal Young as I knew it as a student-teacher.  They tore down the old building and built an amazing new building a few years ago.  Last fall I was super lucky to do my student teaching at CY.  It was so much fun to be (sort of) back at Cal Young!  It didn’t feel like the same school, but there were still some of the same teachers.  I would love, love, love to get a job at Cal Young in the future!  The kids are great, the principal is wonderful and the staff is amazing!

I am a lucky girl to have gone to CY and to have taught at CY!

4 Comments

Filed under Placed I have learned, Places, Places I have taught

4 responses to “Day 35 – Cal Young Middle School

  1. Susan

    Wow, I had no idea they tore down the old building and built a new one. That must be so much nicer. Although, I’m a little sad that the murals we helped paint in the hallways are gone. Band was awesome and it was so cool to collect the stars for your sleeves!

  2. Mary Anne

    I am curious what teachers were still there? It is still a shock to drive by and see the new building there and not the old one.

  3. Ms. Loo is still there. And Ms. Fizman. Some of the instructional aids are the same…

  4. Jacque

    I LOVED band too when I was in middle school. And we played Jurassic Park too!! Wow, we are, like, totally meant to be friends. 😉

Leave a Reply

