Day 29 – Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

This is my favorite book.  Absolutely my favorite.  And I have read a lot of books being an English major and all.  And this is my favorite.  Jonathan Safran Foer wrote this book when he was 28 (which makes me feel quite lazy and unaccomplished) and it is truly a work of art.

Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close is an amazing story of Oskar Schell, a young boy in Manhattan.  Oskar is a nine-year-old tambourine playing, letter writing, searching Francophile pacifist.  Foer created his story using three separate but overlapping narrations, one a first person narration of Oskar’s life, the other two narrations of other people (whom I won’t reveal…).  I am not a literary critic to I can’t really give you any amazing insights into how this book is an amazing work of literature.  I can only tell you that it changed my life, my idea of grief, my expectations of what literature could and should be.

3 Comments

Filed under Books I love, Things

3 responses to “Day 29 – Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

  1. Debbie

    And remember, we saw him IN REAL LIFE in an extremely crowded room. And don’t forget his wife (I’m sure you won’t)…

  2. Pingback: Number 96 – Oskar Schell | 365 of the things that have helped me get to 30

  3. Pingback: Number 103 – Alma | 365 of the things that have helped me get to 30

Leave a Reply

