Day 27 – The Light in the Piazza

This is a musical that I saw right before we left for Peace Corps when it was on tour in Portland.  I instantly fell in love with the romantic music, the beautiful sets and costumes and the love story.  It is set in Florence, which is quite possibly my favorite city in the world.  In Azerbaijan, I couldn’t get the music out of my head, so I had someone send it to me.

I love this.  I can’t even really describe why I love it so much.  I think it is just beautiful. I remember the moment I fell in love with this next song… We used to take the train from Mingechevir to Baku because it was the most comfortable option.  It took about 7 hours.  One day we were coming into Baku and I was watching the landscape change from few houses spread out to houses that were more compact and closer together.  I saw laundry drying, children playing, and  I remember thinking that I need to really pay attention to what I was seeing since I knew I wouldn’t be there forever.  Then this song came on.  It’s all about beauty and love and unexplainable things.  I think at that moment, I felt that for Azerbaijan and for, I think, myself.

I also just realized that the man who originated the role of Fabrizio is Matthew Morrison, Mr. Schuester from GLEE.  He’s amazing.

1 Comment

Filed under Things, Things I love

One response to “Day 27 – The Light in the Piazza

  1. Debbie

    🙂 Didn’t we see this together?

Leave a Reply

