Day Eleven – The Oscars!!!

So, I didn’t randomly pick today.  I intentionally picked the Academy Awards because I love them!!!

I have loved the Oscars as long as I can remember.  They are kind of my thing.  I have always tried to watch all the Best Picture nominees, plus the other major categories.  I love it.  Love it, love it, love it.  I love watching the films, predicting winners, the fashion, the speeches, everything.

While I was in Azerbaijan I think I saw all the films for the Oscars because it was so easy and cheap to get DVDs.  I could get a DVD of a film before it was out in theaters in the States.  Or at least just as soon as they were on theaters.  I always felt a little bit guilty paying $3 for a pirated movie, but I also had to go to the bathroom outside, so I felt like the universe and I were even.

Me and Henry Bumstead's Oscar for "To Kill a Mockingbird"

Yep.  That’s me with a real life Oscar.  Pretty much the best moment of my life.  One of my professors at Pacific University has his father’s award in his dining room.  Look at the pure joy in my face.  That moment was too much to handle.  Love it.  Me and Oscar.  BFFs. sigh.

How are you going to enjoy the Academy Awards tonight?

2 Comments

Filed under Things, Things I love

2 responses to “Day Eleven – The Oscars!!!

  1. Debbie

    I get to watch the Oscars with YOU! 🙂

  2. steve

    I’ll be making dinner for you and your Mom and keeping very, very, very quiet…

Leave a Reply

